"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Last Widow - A Novel - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

The Last Widow - A Novel

Karin Slaughter

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Instant New York Times Bestseller!  
New York Times bestselling author Karin Slaughter brings back Will Trent and Sara Linton in this superb and timely thriller full of devious twists, disturbing secrets, and shocking surprises you won’t see coming 
A mysterious kidnapping 
On a hot summer night, a scientist from the Centers for Disease Control is grabbed by unknown assailants in a shopping center parking lot. The authorities are desperate to save the doctor who’s been vanished into thin air.  
A devastating explosion 
One month later, the serenity of a sunny Sunday afternoon is shattered by the boom of a ground-shaking blast—followed by another seconds later. One of Atlanta’s busiest and most important neighborhoods has been bombed—the location of Emory University, two major hospitals, the FBI headquarters, and the CDC. 
A diabolical enemy  
Medical examiner Sara Linton and her partner Will Trent, an investigator with the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, rush to the scene—and into the heart of a deadly conspiracy that threatens to destroy thousands of innocent lives. When the assailants abduct Sara, Will goes undercover to save her and prevent a massacre—putting his own life on the line for the woman and the country he loves.

Other books that might interest you

  • Crime in the Café (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 3) - cover

    Crime in the Café (A Lacey Doyle...

    Fiona Grace

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    "Very entertaining. I highly recommend this book to the permanent library of any reader that appreciates a very well written mystery, with some twists and an intelligent plot. You will not be disappointed. Excellent way to spend a cold weekend!"
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (regarding Murder in the Manor) 
    
    CRIME IN THE CAFE (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 3) is book three in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, has made a drastic change: she has walked away from the fast life of New York City and settled down in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Summer is nearly here, and Lacey has fallen more in love with the town and with her chef boyfriend. She has even made a best friend: the new owner of a local B&B. And when her friend needs her services for the decoration of her inn, buying nearly everything in Lacey’s antique shop, her business even gets an extra boost.
    
    Everything’s going perfectly—until someone mysteriously dies in her friend’s new B&B.
    
    Their village turned upside down and her new friend’s livelihood now in jeopardy, it’s up to Lacey and her dog to get to the bottom of the mystery.
    
    Book #4 in the series will be available soon!
    Show book
  • The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller - cover

    The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz...

    Stella Rimington

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For fans of Homeland and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot. 
     
    A Russian immigrant lies dying in a hospice in upstate Vermont. When a stranger visits, claiming to be a childhood friend, the FBI is alerted and news quickly travels to MI5 in London. 
     
    Liz Carlyle and her colleague Peggy Kinsolving are already knee-deep in conspiracies, and as they unravel the events that landed the man in the hospital, Liz learns of a network of Russians and their plot to undermine the German government. Liz and Peggy set out to locate and stop this insidious network, traveling the world from Montreal to Moscow.  
     
    The latest expertly plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities, and global espionage.
    Show book
  • The Lost Girls - a gripping historical fiction page turner - cover

    The Lost Girls - a gripping...

    Jennifer Wells

    • 1
    • 43
    • 2
    Everyone remembers the day the girls went missing. 
     
    May Day 1912, a day that haunts Missensham. The day two girls disappeared. The day the girls were murdered. 
     
    Iris Caldwell and Nell Ryland were never meant to be friends. From two very different backgrounds, one the heir to the Caldwell estate, the other a humble vicar's daughter. Both have their secrets, both have their pasts, but they each find solace with one another and soon their futures become irrevocably intertwined. 
     
    Now, many years later, old footage has emerged which shows that Iris Caldwell may not have died on that spring morning. The village must work out what happened the day the girls went missing...
    Show book
  • Nine Minutes Xtra - MC Biker Dark Romance - cover

    Nine Minutes Xtra - MC Biker...

    N.J. Adel

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    When love is tested and darker sides appear, who wins in the end?From Bestselling Author N.J. Adel comes this thrilling sequel of The Nine minutes Trilogy, Nine Minutes Xtra.Dusty surprises Cameron at college on Valentine's Day with a shower of gifts and a promise of an unforgettable night.The sweet gesture from this savage rebel warms her heart before her bed, and puts all her fears and concerns about their relationship on a temporary hold.After all, Dusty is now the president of The Night Skulls MC--the motorcycle gang who kidnapped her sister--and the son of her sister's murderer. Being in love with him is crazy, to say the least, and it doesn't come without a long list of what ifs and WTFs.But when their Valentine's Day turns into a bloodbath, all Cameron's fears and nightmares come true.Dusty is his father's son. His dark side and notorious gang not only do threaten his relationship with Cameron but also her own life.In Nine Minutes Xtra, Dusty and Cammie's love is tested in vicious and unexpected ways through twists and turns and tons of heat.How can Dusty and Cammie come back from this, if ever? Hold tight and grab your copy of Nine Minutes Xtra now to find out.Nine Minutes Xtra is a bad boy MC biker romance with dark themes and many triggers. Part psychological thriller, part new adult coming of age dark romance. Not for the faint of hearts.
    Show book
  • Death and a Dog (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 2) - cover

    Death and a Dog (A Lacey Doyle...

    Fiona Grace

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    DEATH AND A DOG (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 2) is book two in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, has made a drastic change: she has walked away from the fast life of New York City and settled down in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Spring is in the air. With last month’s murder mystery behind her, a new best friend in her English shepherd, and a budding relationship with the chef across the street, it seems like everything’s finally settling into place. Lacey is so excited for her first major auction, especially when a valuable, mystery artifact enters her catalogue.
    
    All seems to go without a hitch, until two mysterious bidders arrive from out of town—and one of them winds up dead.
    
    With the small village plunged into chaos, and with the reputation of her business at stake, can Lacey and her trusty dog partner solve the crime and restore her name?
    
    Book #3 in the series—CRIME IN THE CAFE—is also available for preorder!
    Show book
  • The Long Dark Road - an addictive and page-turning thriller - cover

    The Long Dark Road - an...

    P.R. Black

    • 2
    • 31
    • 0
    If you go, there's no coming back. 
     
    Dr Georgia Healey can't grieve. Her nineteen-year-old daughter went for a walk two years ago and vanished. The police never found Stephanie's body. The case has gone stale, but Georgia can't let it go. She knows Stephanie's out there, somewhere.
     
    On the anniversary of Stephanie's disappearance, Georgia's ready to re-interrogate university students, lecturers, Steph's past boyfriends, everyone. She treads the exact path where Stephanie vanished. Yet the shocking truth is even more than she can handle.
     
    When you seek the lost, be prepared for what you find . . . 
     
    Praise for P.R. Black: 
     
    'It's edge-of-the-seat stuff. The plot is good. I really couldn't see how it was going to work out ... It's a cracker' BOOKBAG
     
    'I absolutely loved this heart-stopping, spine-tingling novel that had me completely and utterly gripped throughout' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'Cleverly written with some great shockers and I had no idea how it would end – I wasn't disappointed' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'This was a fast-paced murder thriller that kept me turning the pages late into the night. It was intelligent and slick' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'It's always something of a risk trying a new author, but I was really glad I did ... I did not see the plot twist coming, and it was very surprising' Amazon Reviewer
    Show book